Weekly Top 10 Comic Book Covers – Week 1/13/2016

Here are my personal choices for this weeks top 10 comic book covers.  These covers got my attention and whether being good or not deserve a moment of your viewing time, so here we go!

Although Alabaster has started out really damn slow the artwork is most definitely mesmerizing to say the least.  I love the somewhat calm feel of the cover hiding the books devious nature…butcher knife anyone?   Another rather calming yet fun cover to look at was the All-New All-Different Avengers incentive variant by Afu Chan.  I think my mouth would have dropped open as a kid, well maybe even as an adult, if a woman Thor flew by…like wtf? Where’s Thor?  Next up we have an amazing homage cover to Saturday Night Live The Blues Brothers with the last John Belushi and still going strong Dan Aykroyd.  One of this weeks top covers in my book was Gustavo Duarte’s Illuminati incentive variant.  Drawn thinking outside the box it provides us with something different from the norm of oddball covers.  Next though we have the best cover of the week as I’m kicking myself for not collecting it when I had a chance.  This is the Legend Of Wonder Woman volume 2 incentive variant cover by Dustin Nguyen.  He’s definitely a talented artist and has a lot going right now in the space but this cover has far surpassed anything he has drawn. I think he has done a wonderful job capturing Wonder Woman at an awe-inspiring state of peace and tranquility.

Moving on we have a great character design cover by Trevor Hairsine for Ninjak.  Another uniquely colored cover was this weeks Robin War by Khary Randolph.  Love the pastels, the blur affect producing an overwhelming bright white backdrop.  I mean honestly I feel like I need to squint when looking at it so well done!  Oddly enough Scarlet Witch volume 2 incentive made the list.  Drawn by Kris Anka this variant isn’t all the special when comparing it to other comics this week but the eyes, he did a fantastic job on her deep gazing eyes.  Tyler Jenkins created a masterful watercolor style cover.  I imagine these covers must be hard to do as the ending result may vary depending upon your tools and work space but when I see these types of covers done I’m always amazed at how well they turn out.  Finally we have The Walking Dead #150 variant cover by Ryan Ottley.  I feel like I would be doing the same thing, unloading my entire magazine screaming and yelling the entire time.

So that’s this weeks top 10 most fascinating, eye catching, crazy looking comic book covers that I could find.  If you see any rare variants that you plan on searching for then good luck and happy hunting!

Top 10 List (Alphabetical Order…)

  • Alabaster The Good The Bad And The Bird #2
  • All-New All-Different Avengers #3 Incentive Afu Chan Variant
  • Huck #3 Variant Rafael Albuquerque
  • Illuminati #3 Incentive Gustavo Duarte Variant
  • Legend Of Wonder Woman Vol 2 #1 Incentive Dustin Nguyen Variant
  • Ninjak Vol 3 #11 Incentive Trevor Hairsine Character Design Variant
  • Robin War #2 Regular Khary Randolph
  • Scarlet Witch Vol 2 #2 Incentive Kris Anka Variant
  • Snow Blind #2 Tyler Jenkins
  • Walking Dead #150 Variant Ryan Ottley

Image Source: Midtown Comics

*** So, do you agree with my choices?  Feel free to share your thoughts. ***

Leave a Reply

