Weekly Top 10 Comic Book Covers – Week 12/9/2015

Here are my personal choices for this weeks top 10 comic book covers.  These covers got my attention and whether being good or not deserve a moment of your viewing time, so here we go!

Well as you can see I’m a little late getting this blog post published as it was a busy weekend with the holidays fast approaching.  With an unplanned kitchen remodel, crap, any ways, lets just dive in so first off we have a new story arc released by Dark Horse for the Alabaster line and like the Colder series that I’m head over heels for this is another, much darker series that in my book is a winner.  I plan on reading and the cover alone was a little freaky to look at so it should be good.  With Back to the Future day came a whirlwind of media content and a new series by IDW Publishing.  This week I just couldn’t help but laugh at our next cover by Tony Fleecs, butthead…  Another cover that came clear out of left field causing me to wonder wtf happened as it’s a pretty dreadful thing to look at.  Clearly Kevin Eastman was rushed since even his turtles looked more like famished turtles in a quarter shell, definitely a little shameful.  Inaki Miranda did a wonderful job on our next cove for Catwoman.  Everything about Catwoman was spot on and to be honest I wasn’t sure if I should hold out my arms in order to catch her.  Well with Deadpool being alive in all and now with a band of Deadpool freaks I found Tony Moore’s group cover of the freak show telling.  It provided a good idea on the personality of each member and since I haven’t started the series yet, very helpful for a newby like me.

Now that we are half way through the list we come to our next disturbingly grotesque cover for the start of another new IDW series called Eighth Seal.  The cover, done by Jeremy Rock, definitely had that eye catching appeal.  Heavy Metal #277 cover by Luis Royo just was awesome to look at, seriously jaw dropping.  Another new series out this week is Snow Blind and Matt Taylor’s virgin variant cover had immense detail with little color yet I was still drawn to the landscape and foreshadowing of a man I can only imagine has some significance in the series.  Now I’ve seen several series come and go centered around Steam Wars and to be honest I haven’t taken much notice but this weeks cover was both fabulous and imaginative.  A steam powered walker, damn it doesn’t get much better than that so great job Joe Wight!  Finally we come to our last cover by Leonardo Manco for the Telos series by DC.  It didn’t have that unique feel to it as I’ve seen covers like this before.  What I liked about it was that the mirror image was done very well and the teeth and saliva was the icing on the cake.

So that’s this weeks top 10 most fascinating, eye catching, crazy looking comic book covers that I could find.  If you see any rare variants that you plan on searching for then good luck and happy hunting!

Top 10 List (Alphabetical Order…)

  • Alabaster The Good The Bad And The Bird #1 Greg Ruth
  • Back To The Future Vol 2 #3 Variant Tony Fleecs Subscription
  • Batman Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1 Incentive Kevin Eastman Variant
  • Catwoman Vol 4 #47 Inaki Miranda
  • Deadpool Vol 5 #3 Regular Tony Moore
  • Eighth Seal #1 Regular Jeremy Rock
  • Heavy Metal #277 Regular Luis Royo
  • Snow Blind #1 Incentive Matt Taylor Virgin Variant
  • Steam Wars First Empire #2 Joe Wight
  • Telos #3 Leonardo Manco

Image Source: Midtown Comics

*** So, do you agree with my choices?  Feel free to share your thoughts. ***

Leave a Reply

