Weekly Top 10 Comic Book Covers – Week 10/21/2015

Here are my personal choices for this weeks top 10 comic book covers.  These covers got my attention and whether being good or bad are deserving of your attention as well, so here we go!

Well as you can see I’m off to a late start for this weeks, or better yet last weeks top 10 list.  First on the list is a rather cute version of the gang from Back to the Future.  Amused at seeing Marty sporting his trademark life jacket, I mean orange vest.  Of course there is crazed Doc and worried Jennifer, along with Einstein looking all cute with his lovable puppy self.  I think Amy did a wonderful job creating this unique take on the gang.  Next up is Jermy Haun’s Beauty cover and I’m not too sure about what really grabbed me but it did.  His portrayal of the white skinned beauty was cleanly drawn while depicting the woman’s vanity cracking.  Another cover grabbing my attention was not really for its originality or artistic appeal but rather for the artist himself, Kevin Eastman.  Where I’ve grown up with an overall image of TMNT’s whenever his name is mentioned feeding my type-cast view of the writer/artist, we see him here drawing a girl, bulky as she may be, surrounded by ghouls; very different.  For me it just seemed so out of place then again, I could be wrong.  This could actually be Rafael in drag.

With SDCC comes a flood of new variant covers and this weeks Kassandra Heller’s version of the Lumberjanes was artistically pleasing to the eyes.  I can’t place my finger on it but I know this is an actual style with the blush cheek bones and the black eyes.  If you can name it then please comment and let me know.  It’s driving me crazy that I can’t remember it.  Next we have Sara Richard’s My Little Pony variant cover.  I love the detail tucked in each object and with the layer of color added in only adds to the aesthetically pleasing cover.  Another new series out this week from a rather small publisher named Dark Circle Comics seems to centralize a strong patriotic womanly figure.  I found that Andrew Robinson’s version out of the 4 covers that were released was the best.

With the popularity of steam punk, anime centered around steam themes, steam locomotives, I guess it was only time for a superhero of sorts to rise above the rest as Steam Man!  So who do you think will win, Steam Man or one of the Gundam Wing suited teens?  Lee Carter’s Sunflower cover caught my eye for the color detail that made the cover pop.  Rahsan Ekedal’s Tithe #6 cover so reminded me of a cool slicked back haired Max Headroom, alas no Pepsi to go with it but hey there’s time.  Finally we come to another signature portrait cover from Adi Granov.  His version of Medusa seems more elegant than most, even dashing a bit of Poison Ivy in with her overall image and I liked where he went with it.  Her facial features look realistic and spot on.

So that’s this weeks top 10 most fascinating, eye catching, crazy looking comic book covers that I could find.  If you see any rare variants that you plan on searching for then good luck and happy hunting!

Top 10 List (Alphabetical Order…)

  • Back To The Future Vol 2 #1 Variant Amy Mebberson Subscription
  • Beauty #3 Regular Jeremy Haun
  • Fistful Of Blood #1 Variant Kevin Eastman Subscription
  • Lumberjanes #14 SDCC Exclusive Kassandra Heller Variant
  • My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic #35 Regular Sara Richard
  • Shield Vol 3 #1 Variant Andrew Robinson
  • Steam Man #1 Piotr Kowalski
  • Sunflower #1 Lee Carter
  • Tithe #6 Rahsan Ekedal
  • Uncanny Inhumans #1 Incentive Adi Granov Variant

Image Source: Midtown Comics

*** So, do you agree with my choices?  Feel free to share your thoughts. ***

Leave a Reply

