Weekly Top 10 Comic Book Covers – Week 8/12/2015

Here are my personal choices for this weeks top 10 comic book covers.  These covers got my attention and whether being good or bad are deserving of your attention as well, so here we go!

Last week I was out with what I thought to be the flu, then potentially strep throat.  So with my 103.1 temp sweating buckets I rushed down to urgent care to find answers.  After sticking swabs up my nose, down my throat, and chest x-rays to top it off I was told that I had none of the above, just a virus.  Yes an unknown nameless virus was causing my grief and making me sleep all day long.  I hate it when it’s just a virus.  Thanks to my son I’ve had a wonderful nameless sickness.  Now that I’m getting better I can actually think of stuff other than, Patrick you just need to find it in yourself to swallow more water down.

Starting things off is a simplistic yet satisifying cover by Greg Capullo for Batman #43.  Sometimes all you need are a field of flowers to make the list.  Next we have a new series that is out this week called Beauty and by the looks of these two covers that made the list it could be something that I may be interested in reading.  Although a bit creepy looking I find both covers very artistic in nature causing the need to gaze into those dead eyes.  Francesco Francavilla is a popular uniquely identifiable artist.  I feel like his art is something you either like or pass on.  A lot of times I find it rather one dimension in that he waves his hands and draws like 5 lines and he’s done but this week is different and I enjoyed his Ghost Racers cover.  Harrow County is another book I’m following closely, written by Cullen Bunn, and it’s one badass series so far.  Tyler Crook’s creepy skinless man (if you are following it you know what I mean) is just that creepy and can only spark the imagination.

Next we have an incentive cover by Giuseppe Camuncoli for Mrs. Deadpool And The Howling Commandos.  The wolf-man depicted is drawn in classic fashion with the moon ginormous behind him.  What an awesome looking cover, good job Giuseppe.  Planet Hulk has been a fascinating read.  With Marvel’s Secret Wars event it’s apart of Greenland where the Hulks run free and cause a lot of damage doing so.  The cover is pretty cool looking making me wonder who really is pulling the strings in this Secret Wars event.  Yeah, another Ed Benes virgin variant cover for you to gaze upon.  Another well known artist Mark Brooks was commissioned by Midtown Comics to create a special store variant for them, nicely done.  Finally we give props to Menton3 for his X-Files cover.  Lines in combination with shading always done so well with his covers that you really don’t need color, it’s eye catching without it.  However the eery green glow does add another dimension to the cover that only adds more to an already amazing cover.

So that’s this weeks top 10 most fascinating, eye catching, crazy looking comic book covers that I could find.  If you see any rare variants that you plan on searching for then good luck and happy hunting!

Top 10 List (Alphabetical Order…)

  • Batman Vol 2 #43 Regular Greg Capullo
  • Beauty #1 Jenny Frison
  • Beauty #1 Regular Jeremy Haun
  • Ghost Racers #3 Regular Francesco Francavilla
  • Harrow County #4 Tyler Crook
  • Mrs Deadpool And The Howling Commandos #3 Incentive Giuseppe Camuncoli Howling Variant
  • Planet Hulk #4 Regular Michael Del Mundo
  • Red Sonja #1973 Rare Ed Benes Virgin
  • Secret Wars #5 Midtown Exclusive Mark Brooks
  • X-Files Season 11 #1 Regular Menton3

Image Source: Midtown Comics

*** So, do you agree with my choices?  Feel free to share your thoughts. ***

Leave a Reply

