Weekly Top 10 Comic Book Covers – Week 5/27/2015

 

Here are my personal choices for this weeks top 10 comic book covers.  These covers got my attention and whether being good or not, are deserving of your attention as well.

This has been an off week for me as it was my birthday.  Nothing like being reminded that another year has past.  It has been fun watching my little kids grow up but as each year passes I feel the need to somehow in someway put the breaks on.  Alas that doesn’t seem to working out for me.  Well cheers for another great year, at least I still have my health, family, and friends!  Now for some comic book talk!

Brian Churilla made the top 10 list this week with his cover for Big Trouble in Little China.  I had a chance to meet him at ECCC this year, pretty cool guy.  Signed my Secret History of D.B. Cooper series that he worked on for Oni Press a while back.  Next Emanuela Lupacchino made the list again simply because her artwork is just so damn clean.  Her covers are stunning pieces of artwork and even though I haven’t read many of the series she’s worked on I still do enjoy gazing at her artwork.  I thought Jelena’s Divinity cover was done very well.  A clean cover emitting that mysterious feeling and since I’m currently reading the series I to0 am looking forward for the 4th and final installment of the 4-part miniseries.

A new series out called Indestructible Stingray made the list twice, Jeff’s cover of the mysterious woman was awe inspiring.  Love the penetrating eyes of the woman figure gracing the cover. On the other hand Nei’s rendition had more sex appeal to it with all proportions done just right.  Adi Granov did a variant cover for Inferno, I believe it’s a very sexy take of Magik (Illyana Rasputin).  I’m not sure if I like the out of the box look or if it’s just so different that it caught my eye, you be the judge. JH Williams III did a fabulous job on his abstract looking cover for The Sandman; colors are damn good too.  This weeks variant cover for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles caught my eye because of how each turtle was drawn…mean and green pumped up on an extra few doses of super steroids.  These turtles could rip you in half with their bare hands.  Christ man stay away from me!  Finally Kotteri did a great job on Ratchet and Drift for Transformers More Than Meets The Eye.

Any ways, that’s this weeks top 10.  If you plan on searching for any of the rare ones good luck and happy hunting!

Top 10 List (Alphabetical Order…)

  • Big Trouble In Little China #11 Regular Brian Churilla
  • Chastity #6 High-End Emanuela Lupacchino Virgin Art Ultra-Limited Variant
  • Divinity #4 Regular Jelena Kevic-Djurdjevic
  • Indestructible Stingray #1 Regular Jeff Langevin
  • Indestructible Stingray #1 Variant Nei Ruffino Subscription
  • Inferno #1 Incentive Adi Granov Variant
  • John Carter Warlord Of Mars Vol 2 #7 Incentive Emanuela Lupacchino Virgin
  • Sandman Overture #5 Regular JH Williams III
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Vol 5 #46 Incentive Alberto Ponticelli Variant
  • Transformers More Than Meets The Eye #41 Incentive Kotteri Variant

Image Source: Midtown Comics

*** So, do you agree with my choices?  Feel free to share your thoughts. ***

Leave a Reply

