Top 10 Comic Book Covers – Week 2/4/2015

Top 10 Comic Book Covers – Week 2/4/2015

Here are my choices for top comic book covers.  As always there are way to many to pick from but these definitely got my attention!

With the loss of the Superbowl still hanging over my head like hot stagnate air of a breezeless summer night has affected me far worse than first thought.  1 yard and a bad call makes the Seahawks go home with no Superbowl win.  Now I know how the Green Bay Packers, Denver Broncos, and yes, even the San Francisco 49ers feel like when they lose.  Any ways, this weeks covers weren’t as impressive as other weeks and I found myself kind of scratching my head wondering what the top 10 would be.  First off Mark Brooks’ Ant-Man and Francis Manapul’s Detective Comics covers were just pretty cool to look at.  Another favorite artist of mine Jae Lee had 2 covers out this week but I found this one to be a bit more dramatic with the pitch black background and the virgin style printing allowing the scene to really pop.

Haven’t seen a Goon cover in a while and Eric Powell’s new incentive cover was damn good but hard to find so good luck!  Another Lady Killer published this week and yes it made the list.  I mean really, how could it not?  It has that happy retro killer feel, like Remender’s Deadly Class series published by Image Comics.  Our next cover, well you understand right?  It caught my eye and I’m sorry to say not many covers did this week.  The detail was spot on considering how it was meshed with the rainfall and evening sky.

This week marks the return of Cullin Bunn’s followup miniseries to the wildly popular but not really liked by me Night of the Living Deadpool.  I’m hoping to be pleasantly surprised with Return of the Living Deadpool since I really didn’t get into the last one.  If the cover speaks to the content then many Deadpools are far better than one and yes I’m the dude in the back.  Another series that I’m looking forward to is Spawn.  It’s one of those ex-girlfriend types, on again, off again depending upon how I’m feeling and what mischief our renegade hero is getting himself into.  The covers were pretty amazing and I have to say that Skottie Young’s baby rendition was one of the best I’ve seen in recent baby incarnations he’s become so popular for.

Finally Star Wars #2 was just damn funny because if anyone has seen the movies telling Chewie to shush is like trying to make the jump to light speed with a broken hyperdrive, it just ain’t gonna happen!  Like always, have a great week and if you are reading the new Star Wars series let me know how you are liking the stories.

Top 10 List (Alphabetical Order…)

  • Ant-Man #2 Regular Mark Brooks
  • Detective Comics Vol 2 #39 Regular Francis Manapul
  • Doctor Spektor Master Of The Occult #1 High-End Jae Lee Virgin Art Ultra-Limited Variant Cover (ONLY 25 COPIES IN EXISTENCE!)
  • Goon Once Upon A Hard Time #1 Retailer Incentive Eric Powell Wraparound Variant
  • Lady Killer #2 Joelle Jones
  • Legenderry Vampirella #1 Rare Cedric Poulat Virgin Variant
  • Return Of The Living Deadpool #1 Regular Jay Shaw
  • Spawn #250 Retailer Incentive Variant Greg Capullo
  • Spawn #250 Variant Skottie Young
  • Star Wars Vol 4 #2 Regular John Cassaday

Image Source: Midtown Comics

*** SHOW ME YOUR FAVORITE COVERS! ***

Leave a Reply

