Top 10 Comic Book Covers – Week 1/7/2015

Top 10 Comic Book Covers – Week 1/7/2015

Here are my choices for top comic book covers.  As always there are way to many to pick from but these definitely got my attention!

Jae Lee’s got a new bad ass cover out in retailer incentive for for Action Comics.  He has a way with depicting dismal scenes so well.  Lines are abundant but not overbearing in combination with very thoughtful shadowing allows the emotional attachment of the reading to really appreciate when is happening.  I honestly don’t read half the stuff he draws for because I’m not a fan of most series but I still find myself stuck staring intently at his imagery whenever it’s released.  With Deadly Class I enjoyed the humorous depiction of Marcus torn to shreds, RIP for Marcus I’m not sure but it’s a hella good series that I read and so should you!  I haven’t been following Wolverine’s Death simply because there’s to many books out on the subject and I can’t keep up.  I did enjoy the glimmering swords reflecting another character and his bloodied sword.  Now another comic new this week is another Boom series called Feathers.  I haven’t a clue what it’s about but the virgin retailer incentive variant was nicely done; good use of colors!

Nick Pitarra is another favorite artist of mine as I follow the Manhattan Projects religiously.  Unfortunately even though I enjoy those covers they usually don’t showcase his actual character artwork.  Here I finally get a chance to show his unique style drawn for the God Hates Astronauts cover.  I realize he has done others that maybe I’ve missed but his quirkiness caught my eye this week.  As for stuff I read religiously, anything to do with Hellboy is damn near the top of my list.  I’ve always enjoyed the stories and artwork that have come from the mind of Mignola and others involved in the Hellboy universe.  If you get a chance don’t miss the new mini-series Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 1952.  Jolle Jones’s Lady Killer caught my eye this week.  Defintely a good use of black against its simple color palette, not to mention her clean lines!  As for Red Sonya, not a fan, but wow the cover almost seems picturesque.  Talk about being wowed by the sheer detail of Sonya’s face, well done Lucio Parrillo!

Finally the last 2 cutesie covers made the list for different reasons.  Nostalgia played a part with Scooby-Doo reminiscing the days I watch Sunday morning cartoons.  Oh and that was brought forth thanks in part to the spot on artwork by Scott Jeralds.  Speaking childhood memories, days were a bit simpler back then.  All I needed to worry about was who had the biggest Transformer figure on the block!  The other was Skottie Young’s cover of the new series from marvel called the Unbeatable Squirrel Girl.  Hey, she found her nuts!  Anyways, there you have it, read ’em and weep, agree or disagree just as long as you comment.

Top 10 List (Alphabetical Order…)

  • Action Comics Vol 2 #38 Cover C Incentive Jae Lee Variant
  • Deadly Class #10 Wes Craig & Lee Loughridge
  • Death Of Wolverine Weapon X Program #5 Salvador Larroca
  • Feathers #1 Cover C Incentive Ken Niimura Virgin Variant
  • God Hates Astronauts #5 Cover B Nick Pitarra
  • Hellboy And The BPRD 1952 #2 Alex Maleev
  • Lady Killer #1 Jolle Jones
  • Red Sonja Vultures Circle #1 Cover C Variant Lucio Parrillo Subscription
  • Scooby-Doo Team-Up #8 Scott Jeralds
  • Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1 Cover B Variant Skottie Young Baby

Image Source: Midtown Comics

*** SHOW ME YOUR FAVORITE COVERS! ***

Leave a Reply

