Top 10 Comic Book Covers – Week 12/17/2014

Top 10 Comic Book Covers – Week 12/17/2014

Here are my choices for top comic book covers.  As always there are way to many to pick from but these definitely got my attention!

It’s been a busy week for me with Christmas right around the corner as I imagine it’s been busy for the rest of you.  On top of that I’m a day late with this post.  Then again I’m not too bothered by that fact since I’m not even sure anybody is reading this blog.  The comments and interaction with the audience is literally next to nil.  But hey, I’m doing this for me and to be quite honest I love seeing what the collective imaginations can bring forth each week, taking in both the good and bad.  If you think I’m off my rocker on some of these covers then let me know!  Then again, if you want to agree with me in the public realm don’t hesitate cause you’re probably the only one reading this anyways! Let me see here…smiley face…smiley face…hehe.

This weeks releases saw a bunch of crazy looking indie covers with eye catching artwork aimed to please any comic reader.  First I want to start off with something eye catching and completely ridiculous, with Captain Stone #1.  The arms of a roided out dude dressed in purple, need I say more?  On the flip-side Darwyn Cooke has quickly become another favorite artist of mine in that his covers bring that colorful classy feeling to the characters involved.  I love his happy-go-lucky cartoony feeling artwork that does bring a smile to my face.  When reviewing the covers up close you can see that each line is clean making the overall cover look and feel like a refined piece of art.  Check out his wiki site and yes he does have a blog of sorts.  I thought David Lopez did a fantastic job with his classic cover feeling for Captain Marvel.

Annihilator was one of my favorite covers of the week.  Just an incredible use of lines and fading, just found it a bit different from the rest of the pile.  Roberto de la Torre’s Doctor Mirage #4 did a beautiful blue period piece of reflective imagery.  Has that watercolor effect going for it in what appears to be a reflection pool of sorts.  By the way anyone reading Doctor Mirage from Valiant?  I feel like the net is dead on chat concerning this ongoing series.  Seems like with the ending of my favorite Archer & Armstrong series all they have going for them now is X-O Manowar, Unity, and that Armor something.  Speaking of Valiant and new releases, Harbinger Faith #0, although only a one-shot, looks to be something I might want to pick up.  I really enjoyed Lucy Knisley’s interpretation of Faith.  Portraying her at peace and if you know Faith at all she simply just wants to help others; be that superhero character everyone yearns to be.  With her comic books as her guide she was quite an uplifting, sometimes naive but affective member of the renegade squad standing up to Toyo Harada in the recently finished Harbinger series.

Now to Manifest Destiny, what a freaking crazy ass ride of a story.  If you haven’t picked it up, pick it up, what are you waiting for.  Definitely different style of comic and if you are a history buff you might enjoy this wacky alternate universe with familiar historical figures injected throughout.  Any ways, great cover with great detail hinting to what lies ahead for our adventurers.  The Oddly Normal variant cover by Robb Mommaerts was picked because of its display of layering.  If you first focus on what seems to be the main character and then slowly move  your eyes up the cover you gradually discover more and more layering of characters; nicely done.

The teeth had me at first view and yes I’m talking about an unknown series A Town Called Dragon.  I thought the teeth were done very well and integrating the reflections of the peeps facing those vicious teeth, what can I say, kudos to Geoff Shaw.  Finally we come to another awesome Transformers comic, this one relating to the new Drift: Empire of Stone miniseries.  Alex Milne always kills it when drawing his robots in disguise, slim n’ sleek, they just jump off the page.  By the way, I’m totally biased when it comes to Transformers, big fan…just admitting.  That being said it is a kick-ass cover don’t you agree?

Top 10 List (Alphabetical Order…)

  • Annihilator #4 Frazer Irving
  • Batman Vol 2 #37 Cover B Variant Darwyn Cooke
  • Captain Marvel Vol 7 #10 David Lopez
  • Captain Stone #1 Liam Sharp
  • Death-Defying Doctor Mirage #4 Roberto de la Torre
  • Harbinger Vol 2 Faith #0 Cover B Variant Lucy Knisley
  • Manifest Destiny #12 Matthew Roberts
  • Oddly Normal Vol 2 #4 Cover B Robb Mommaerts
  • Town Called Dragon #4 Geoff Shaw
  • Transformers Drift Empire Of Stone #2 Cover B Variant Alex Milne Subscription

Image Source: Midtown Comics

*** SHOW ME YOUR FAVORITE COVERS! ***

Leave a Reply

