Comic Collecting on a Budget (Part 2) Materials

In my previous post I explained how a small-time comic book collector such as myself stores comics.  In this post I’ll explain where I get all of these materials that I use for my collection.  It’s been a learning experience for me and have made mistakes along the way.  However you live and learn because after all I went into this hobby a newbie knowing next to nothing about where to buy and what were the associated costs.

Bare in mind that I’m not an expert in the preservation field, just a small-time collector, so please keep that in mind as I share my overall experience.  If you know of dealers that have better products and/or better pricing then please do share.  Just make sure to include any shipping costs as well since that could nullify any product savings.

Temporary and/or Reading Comics Storage:

  • BCW 200-Pack Current/Modern Age Comic Book Life Extenders [~$18]
  • BCW 100-Pack Golden Age Comic Book Bags [~$10]
  • BCW 100-Pack Magazine Bags [~$12]
  • BCW 100-Pack Life Magazine Bags [~$14]image
  • BCW 100-Current Sized Bags & Boards – For storing your reading comics that you wish to have that extra added protection without having to go all out. [~$17]image

Comic Preservation:

  • 50 Regular E-Gerber Mylites 2 (2-Mil Mylar-D, 7 1/4” x 10 1/2” and 1 1/2” Flap) [~$16]image
  • 100 Regular E-Gerber Half-Backs (7” x 10 1/2”) [~$15]
  • 50 Regular E-Gerber Full-Backs (7” x 10 1/2”) [~$16]
  • Microchamber Archival Paper 100-Pack – I’ve found mixed results from eBay and there are a lot of imitations out there right now.  So if you rather avoid the possibility of getting burned then then spend the $25-30 or so and go to Comic Supply and get their version.  You can also get BCE’s version called Life-X-Tenders Plus and pay double the price.  I’m sure they are just as good as Comic Supply’s. [~$25-30]

Comic Storage:

  • BCW Short Cardboard Comic Book Box (150-175) – Buy these on eBay in sets of 5 or 10 because you’ll end up saving a ton of money in the long run.  Reason, they arrive already prepackaged in sets of 5 from BCW so the seller doesn’t need to do anything when shipping to you. [Lot of 5 ~$30-35 (eBay Only)]image
  • BCW Short Cardboard Comic Book House Drawer Shell – Buy these on eBay in sets of 5 or 10 because you’ll end up saving a ton of money in the long run.  Reason, they arrive already prepackaged in sets of 5 from BCW so the seller doesn’t need to do anything when shipping to you. [Lot of 5 ~$40 (eBay Only)]
  • BCW Acrylic Comic Book Display – I have a couple of these and I like them a lot.  I haven’t tried hanging them yet, they just sit on a shelf.  The reason I like them over the cheaper version is that they protect the incased comic against UV light that can cause fading.  If the comic is worth a lot then obviously displaying it where any light can touch it is a no-no but hey it’s your prerogative how you choose to display your collection. [~$40 each (eBay Only)]image
  • BCW 1.5” Black Comic Book Stor-Folio Box – Great for transporting comics.  I also use them to store comics that I consider pretty valuable.  The main reason for this is the fear of the possibility that the comic may bend while inside the comic box. [Lot of 5 ~$45 (eBay Only)]
  • Millcase – If you want to store you comics in a hard case instead of Mylar-D with a Full-Back then try this out.  I personally don’t use them much as I only have 5 but I’ve provided a link to a site where a good example of their use can be seen. Comic Book Collection with Millcases

Comic Collecting On A Budget (Part 1 of 4)
Comic Collecting on a Budget (Part 2) Materials
Comic Collecting On A Budget – Retailers (Part 3 of 4)
Comic Collecting On A Budget – Alt. Retailers (Part 4 of 4)

Leave a Reply

